Memes – saviour of time

Thanks to all who have gone before me. It’s my turn for the meme, as it’s a busy day and I need a quick post – thanks especially to CW for the meme!

Do you snack while reading?
On the train, no. At home, maybe. It will be something sweet – perhaps a couple of Tim Tams.

What is your favourite drink while reading?
Coffee, white no sugar. Though usually there is no drink.

Do you tend to mark your books while you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
Write in a book – EEEK! How blasphemous.

How do you keep your place? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book open flat?
I use bookmarks if I can, always if the book is not mine. The bookmark will be anything handy – receipts, plane tickets (I fly a bit), post-it notes.

Fiction, non-fiction or both?
Usually fiction, though also enjoy the occasional non-fic.

Do you tend to read to the end of a chapter or can you stop anywhere?
Will try to end at an appropriate place – end of a chapter, or section – at the minimum it will be the end of the paragraph.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?
Another EEEK! who are you people that throw books?????

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?
Nope – though if the word is repeatedly used I’ll check it out next time I’m online.

What are you currently reading?

Not at lot, as am currently crocheting. I don’t multitask with reading and craft. Just finished Paullina Simmons‘ A Song in the daylight which if I was one to throw books, would have been put to flight from six storeys up. I had enjoyed Tully and Red Leaves, but this one made me nuts! Have started Candace Bushnell‘s One fifth avenue but it’s doing nothing for me.

What is the last book you bought?

Out of the Hitler Time by Judith Kerr, for my daughter, which I will read when she’s finished. Prior to that, the third in the Millenium series.

Do you have a favourite time/place to read?
Usually it’s on the train that I have time – the journey passes so more quickly, and I’m without other duties to do at that time.

Do you prefer series books or stand-alones?
I love a good series – though they can be hard to find.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?
There are many, but most recently People of the book by Geraldine Brooks.

How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)?
There is no order, it’s hard enough finding space.

Barbara’s additional question: background noise or silence?
Don’t really care as long as the noise is not exceptionally loud. When I read, if I’m enjoying it I tune all else out.

2 thoughts on “Memes – saviour of time

Leave a Reply

