The teen in me? (Post 3)

My weaknesses when reading for pleasure are young adult fiction and fiction series. I, of course, really get off on young adult fiction series! I have probably written about this love before, but as I haven’t posted in 18 months I figure I can get away with it.

My most recent dalliance has been the Divergent series by Veronica Roth, but I haven’t read Four: a divergent story collection. [No spoilers please].

Prior to that I reread the The Hunger games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, The Host by Stephenie Myer and started the the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

My love of teen fiction sort of existing when I was actually a teen, though I didn’t explore a lot – just read my brother’s stuff. At that stage one of my favourites was the White mountains trilogy by John Christopher – and it still is.

It was in Uni as part of a librarianship selective that I rediscovered young adult fiction, especially science fiction and science fantasy. Favourites include the Dark is rising sequence by Susan Cooper, the Tomorrow series by John Marsden, Harry Potter of course, and the Chronicles of Narnia (which I first read in my 40s).
I have found that, unlike many I know, I can happily re-read books I enjoyed time and time again.

This is not to say I don’t read adult books (no, not those!!!!) – but the ready flow of language and action is very addictive and a great way to pass train trips!

20140603-215148.jpg

3 thoughts on “The teen in me? (Post 3)

  1. Rachel says:

    I had to read The White Mountains for English in grade 8. I didn’t really like it but the memory of the book has stayed with me. I have never known anyone else who has mentioned the books. I also remember watching the tv series.

  2. Oh I LOVE re-reading old favourite books. I think I’ve read all the HP books at least 2 or 3 times but my biggie is Pride & Prejudice – I don’t know how many times I’ve read it but it has to number in the dozens I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

